• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

My friend in trouble

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My friend in trouble

Hi All, I am a Newbie. Can anyone please help me help my friend who has been sent Court documents by Marlin/Mortimer Clarke for a debt of £1,500. Five and a half years ago her account with HSBC was raided fraudulently to the tune of £600. She complained and the money was returned 2 hours later. She thought that was the end of it (she is a young Asian Mum living alone on benefits with 4 children and did not understand fully what was happening). Two months later she is told by the bank that they believed her pin number must have been compromised and that she must pay it all back. Frightened, she agreed to ay back what she could, but had many problems and the repayments became too much. She told the bank she could not afford to pay. They said they would issue further adjusted repayment terms. She did not hear any more about this till a week ago when Mortimer Clark said she will go to court if she does not pay back a sum of (now) £1500. As I said she is on benefits and cannot afford to repay this. Should she offer to pay £4 per month - actually more than she can afford - or say 'take me to court' and see if a judge will consider she is in enough difficulty with 2 of her children in poor health and only public money to live on? I don't think she could deal with the stress of a court appearance or a proper legal sounding defence. Considering that she did not take this money and a fraud was committed in the first place, I think it is awful that she had to pay it back at all. And, why £1500 and not the original £600. Could they reduce this? The immorality of demanding repayment of this when she