• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Unfair Dismissal?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unfair Dismissal?

Hi All

I was hoping someone could cast their wisdom over my current predicament?

I am a professional in the Procurement sector, and recently moved from a job I thoroughly enjoyed and was successful at, to a permanent role closer to home.

After two weeks in my new role (still within probationary period) I was asked to attend a meeting with my line manager. In the meeting it was made clear that this would be my last day of employment at the company. Naturally I asked why they had come to this conclusion, and requested any examples of my work not meeting expectation, nothing was forthcoming. I inquired if this was a matter of conduct and again there was no mention of any problems. In the two weeks I was employed by the company at no point was there any indication of any problems, I was settling in well... seemingly!

They advised that an official letter would be sent to my home address outlining the reasoning behind the termination of my employment. A week later I am yet to receive this, is this a statutory requirement?

I have since (the following day) found the same job re-advertised as an 'administrator' role, with the same criteria.