• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help/Advise required for an idiot

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help/Advise required for an idiot

Hi all, newbie here and need a little advice.

I have x2 credit cards which I have now defaulted on for the past 3 months due to the fact I can no longer afford the payments. I have had my head in the sand and ignored the phone calls. Today I received the letter from power2contact asking me to contact Natwest within 3 working days of the date on the letter or they will come calling. However the letter was delivered 4 days post this date so I am already in breach before I even saw the letter.

The issue I have is that I moved over to the Republic of Ireland x3 years ago, I changed all my UK contacts to my Irish contacts and continued payments as normal. However, now I can no longer afford the payments, I have done the head in sand trick. I want to contact both Natwest Visa and Tesco Bank (MasterCard) to agree a payment plan of £50 per month. I owe approx £6k to Tesco bank and £9k to Natwest Visa. If I call them and tell them I cannot afford the payments but I am willing to offer the £50 per month, I am worried that they will argue and force me to go through a full account breakdown to see if I can afford more. I have already done this myself numerous times and have also been through it with my bank for the mortgage and loan payments so I know the score. Will they accept what I say or will it get nasty?