• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

** WON ** Pre 2005 Underwriter Claim - BMW

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ** WON ** Pre 2005 Underwriter Claim - BMW

Hello, newbie here after some advice really. In instances where the loan provider (in this instance BMW Financial Services) was non regulated does anybody have an experience of PPI claims against the underwriter?
    The FOS have said it's not a problem that the provider was non regulated and they will go after the underwriter, who is regulated.

Now, I was mis sold PPI several different ways, and even though the underwriter had nothing to do with the actual sale of the policies the product they provided was impossible for me to claim on - amongst other things I was self employed at the time of the sale.

Regardless of my claim being successful or not, does anybody on here have any experience of claims against the underwriter and how much power the FOS have in this instance? The FOS say they will look into whether or not there was a relationship between underwriter and provider and go from there. I've been in the queue with FOS for 9 months now, very slow going.

Tags: None

Re: Pre 2005 Underwriter Claim

Hi and welcome

I was successful with the underwriter/insurer. I done this myself without the help of the FOS by writing to them with a letter of my own words, and stating what I know their responsibilities are, without the fact of actually holding them liable as such.

Wording a complaint to the underwriter has to be carefully worded.

As the business/broker who sold the policy were not FSA/GISC regulated, this was why I went the underwriter/insurer avenue.