• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Advice on taking council to court to re-claim parking penalty charge

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on taking council to court to re-claim parking penalty charge

Hi, I am new to the forum and so apart from giving a brief outline of my dilema and hoping that you guys will be able to provide some assistance, I'd like to introduce myself. I currently work as an legal clerk at a local authority and previous to this spent time as a CAB (citizens advice bureax) adviser. As my current job looks at procurement and contracts I do not have experience in the following matter but hope you guys can help. so... Around sept 2011, I managed to get a bus lane ticket captured on CCTV. I received the PCN a few weeks later. Initially I contested it with several defences but this was turned down. Ultimately, I believe that the Council did not follow the correct timescales and therefore I missed the opportunity to appeal to the Parking Tribunal. The Council pursued me for an increased charge of £202, but after making several representations they have reduced the charge back to the original of £65. I am unhappy that , although given this opportunity, I believe that I have an arguable case to have the PCN cancelled. The problem is that I am now being threatened with increased charges and bailiffs. I would like to know whether I could pay the PCN (under duress) but take it further such as taking it to Court. I would like to hear others opinion on this specific matter of reclaiming (especially whilst i have not been given the opportunity to appeal to the tribunal) and how i would do this.
    Tags: None

Re: Advice on taking council to court to re-claim parking penalty charge