• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Charge On Property And Chasing The Debt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charge On Property And Chasing The Debt

If there is a charging order secured on a debtors property, can the debt still be chased by baillifs/HCEO etc? Thanks in advance.
    Tags: None

Re: Charge On Property And Chasing The Debt

bump anyone know?

Comment

hiya toffee

sorry for the delay in an answer, im not an expert but I've flagged this as unanswered so hopefully the experts will be with you shortly.

p

Comment

Basically No (if you meant property like house, land and not movable goods like car, furniture etc), as they have secured the debt against your property, meaning they will get their money back when you sell or they force the sale (which a judge is unlikely to allow) they can not then seek to sieze payment or goods from you to cover the debt as the charging order on your property woulf still stand, therefore by taking your goods etc, they would basically be doubling up the debt owed, meaning when you came to sell your house, you would still have the charging order covering the debt you must repay despite gaving already paid them via goods or money.

If they do send bailiffs, then simply ask for a copy of the court order that entitles them to collect money or goods, when all the claiment was granted by the court was a charging order against secured against your house.

It may also be worth contacting the court to find out whats what and letting the court know they are threatening you with bailiffs and HCEO's despite only having a charging order secured against your home.