• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Npower asking me to pay a bill that I am not liable for!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Npower asking me to pay a bill that I am not liable for!!

hi, i was a full time student in 2009-10 living as a tenant in a furnished 4 bedroom shared house with 3 other guys, my contract with the landlord was for 225 pounds PCM with all utility bills inclusive, now I have recently received a collections notice from Npower asking me to pay about 800 pounds for electricity that i used when i was living there. I called them up and explained the situation and also asked as to how can they put the bills under my name when I have not even signed anything with them. They said they have got my details via electoral roll and since I was living there so im legally liable to pay it. Then they said if your tenancy agreement states that your landlord is responsible to pay it then send us a copy of the agreement. Now I do not have a copy of it anymore and my landlord refuses to give me a duplicate copy, she just picked up my call once and when I told her what's going on, she promised to get back to me with a duplicate copy but after that, she has just disappeared and doesn't even answer my phone calls. What can i do? Because clearly, I should not be asked to pay this bill in the first place. Moreover, there were 3 other guys living there so why I have been made the lone scapegoat??
    Tags: None

Re: Npower asking me to pay a bill that I am not liable for!!

As she is holding personal data about you, can you not send her an SAR request. This would give you all information she holds about you. Word the letter to include copies of any signed agreements etc...