• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

What do I write on my N9B following a CCJ being set aside?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do I write on my N9B following a CCJ being set aside?

Hi, I'm new to all of this so advice would be hugely appreciated.

I had a judgement set aside last week in my local county court. It was an old style student loan, and by their solicitor's own admission there was a period of more than six years whereby no payments or written acknowledgement of debt were made. They argued that they had written to me at a number of addresses and hadn't made a claim against me to give me time to respond to these letters and agree a repayment plan. They say I deliberately avoided them because I knew of the limitation act.

In reality I moved relatively frequently to avoid an abusive partner, certainly not to avoid letters from the Student Loans Company Ltd. For obvious reasons I never left a forwarding address. I bought a house and moved in March 2009 and am now very settled. The SLC claim they wrote to me in May 2010 at my new address (14 months after moving in). I never received that letter ( I had a lot of problems with post as it is a new development - I made calls to Royal Mail and so could ask for the call reference if it would help).

The next I heard was July 2010 when I received court papers from Northampton. Following some online research I sent back a defence saying that the debt was statute barred but they say they didn't receive it, as I found out when I received a judgement in default in November. I had kept a copy of the accompanying letter (which was obviously dated) which I took to court last week.