• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Misplaced VAT repayment against personal debt...??!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Misplaced VAT repayment against personal debt...??!!

Hi all,

After some advice if possible:

In short, my LTD company recently had a VAT repayment of circa £3000. This was the first payment Ive had from them, and unfortunately they held my old Barclays Business bank accnt details, which was me T/A xxxx i.e a sole trader.
    Also with barclays, I defaulted on a 5k business loan which is a personal liability as I was a sole trader at the time.

Basically after 2 weeks of tracking and tracing, Barclays have taken the mis-placed 3k repayment from HMRC which was meant to be for the Ltd company, and placed it against the debt I have with them, which is currently under an arrangment with one of their in-House collection departments.

SO, where do I stand. Logic tells me the payment was for a sperate legal entity, and as such these is an illegal transfer by barclays....??

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Craig
    Tags: None

Re: Misplaced VAT repayment against personal debt...??!!

Hiya, yes contact the bank and inform them that this has been incorrectly assigned to a personal account and should be assigned to the business account to start with.

See where that goes.

If you continue to have issues repost but you would be looking to contact the FOS ultimately.

Comment

Stanton has another thread also http://www.legalbeagles.info/forums/...ad.php?t=25686

Comment