• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Parenting in the late 70's early 80's

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parenting in the late 70's early 80's

Not sure if this is the right board, but does anyone have any memory/idea of what it would have been like being a single working father to 7 children around this time? I know there would have been little financial support in way of tax credits (not even invented then), and child care eg nurserys after school would have been limited but how would a father have been viewed by schools, school freinds parents, employers etc.

Re: Parenting in the late 70's early 80's

I've no experience but having been around during that time I would imagine that he would be viewed in a better light than a single mother in the same position, as one would would assume he was either a widower or his wife dumped him and the children and would garner sympathy.

As to what it would have been like I dread to think.

Comment

This isfor my advance award in child care - and the scenario is a man in a manual job, left with the kids in social housing, and how he would have been viewed by others. I'm inclined to agree with EXC that he would have got a lot of sympathy but equally would have entered into relationships to help with the childcare very quickly, and therefore whilst doing so would have caused more unstability to the kids with a succession of women than he even realised, but no one would have batted an eyelid. The kids as adults would have had little idea of security and good parenting so would have passed that down to their children. The kids would now be mid 20's and any long lasting damage wouldbe brushed off with the ' well poor bloke he did his best'