• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Claiming from council for damage to car

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Claiming from council for damage to car

Hi Everybody,

Just over a month ago I was looking around my local town for a parking space to do a job (I'm a field engineer so go to different locations).

I'd looked round one of the borough council's car parks and was exiting through the designated exit lane and over the top of an 'alligator' speed bump that they have installed.

For those that don't know, this is a vicious looking speed bump with about 8-10 sprung 4" metal teeth to stop people driving in the wrong way. The idea is that they fold down as you go over the top of them in the right direction and I assume bite in to your tyres and stop you if you go the wrong way.

As I slowly exited this lane (bearing in mind it exits on to a busy seafront roundabout and you have to go slowly to give way), I heard a pop and a loud hiss. I knew immediately what had happened but couldn't stop as I was in the path of traffic.

I continued round the corner to a small side road where I could safely stop and inspect the car, and whilst driving could feel that a rear tyre was flat.

On removal and inspection of the now very flat nearside rear tyre, there was a roughly 3" slash right through the inside sidewall. The angle was exactly the same as a raised tooth and there's no doubt that my tyre was damaged by one of said teeth.