• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Return of Rent Deposit from Estate Agent/Landlord

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Return of Rent Deposit from Estate Agent/Landlord

RETURN OF RENT DEPOSIT FROM LANDLORD/ESTATE AGENT

Hello, I’m a new member to the forum. Can you help me with my problem?.

I am a graduate in my early twenties, and lived in a house with another student, who is also unemployed like myself.

· Mike Lewis Estate Agents – 93 Frederick Street, Luton, Bedfordshire
    · Estate Agents Handler: Kevin, Landlord: Mr Ben Khalid
    · On the 10th November 2008, we paid £412.50 each for the house deposit (£312.50 was my half of one months rent, and £100 which was half of the admin fee)
    · Rent in total was £625 per month, and the admission fee which was a single payment, was £200.
    · This was a 6-month contract which would expire in April 2009
    · We moved in to the property on the 11th November 2008.
    · Rent was paid monthly on the 11th of each month
    · After consulting Kevin and Mr Khalid (March 2009), we came to an agreement that the contract which ended in April 2009, would become a rolling contract, and I informed them both we would stay for a further two months.
    · We moved out of 93 Frederick Street on the 11th June 2009.
    · On the same day when dropping off the keys, I asked Kevin when the deposits would be returned, I was told they would be returned once the property had been inspected by Mr Khalid.
    · A week had passed and still had no response from Kevin.