• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Unfair Contract Terms 1977

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unfair Contract Terms 1977

Can anyone advise if a contract is unfair, when the terms and conditions are not sent to you before the order is placed and you are only aware of the terms and conditions once the invoice arrives which is after the order had already been given!

My thoughts are that it is an unfair term and goods not being of merchantable quality - but not being a solicitor I am unsure that if we sued we would not get our money back..

The situation here is that goods were ordered for a customer from a Chinese agent here in the UK who had the goods bought in from China. the samples that were shown to our customer who liked the goods and then placed the order, but when the goods arrived they were not of merchantable quality. They were made in a different site to the one that the samples were shown and all the goods had to be returned. It was agreed that the goods would be sent back which happened, but so far we have not received the return of monies that were paid in good faith under the Bill of Exchange.

Thanks

Re: Unfair Contract Terms 1977

Who ordered the goods and who paid whom for them?

If you need to see the terms and conditions, you must ask for them before parting with payment.

This does not appear to be a matter of the contract being unfair, just that the goods you received were not of the same quality and fitness for purpose as the samples demonstrated. You have sent them back and are now awaiting a refund, which goes to the question at the head of this reply.

Comment

Originally posted by Cetelco View Post
      Who ordered the goods and who paid whom for them?