• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Howard Cohen/CL Finance

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howard Cohen/CL Finance

Hi I received a claim form on Christmas Eve from the above for a debt relating to Sainsbury's bank for approx £8,000,

They told me the week before that they had bought the debt from Sainsbury's in March 2008, but provided no further paperwork. This surprised me as I have been paying a company called Blair Oliver and Scott since 2004, as Sainsbury's bank told me and the CCCS that they had assigned the debt to them. I have paid the CCCS every month with no arrears for 5 years. Cohen & Co say they can't accept the payment I am making as they have issued a claim through Northampton Bulk Court.

I have done the following

1. Acknowledged the claim to Northampton Court
    2. Sent a notice of Defence to Northampton Court but not sent a defence as I have till 23 Jan
    3. Written to Cohen's and CL Finance stating that I have an arrangement via the CCCS and enclosing a statement showing payments made, so will they withdraw the claim

I don't have any problem admitting the debt. I just don't want a CCJ against my name as I am a Driving Instructor and if a CCJ is registered against a Driving Instructor the instructor is removed from the DSA approved driving instructor list which would then prevent me earning any money, which would benefit no one.

Any ideas what to do next?

All help gratefully received

Re: Howard Cohen/CL Finance

CL finance strike again.

Could you please post the Particulars of Claim (POC) up for us.
    It's highly unlikely that Cohen's will withdraw the claim if they have already refused your previous payments.