• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Stutute Barred Debt moved to CCJ by Lowell

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stutute Barred Debt moved to CCJ by Lowell

Good afternoon all,

I am new to the Legal Beagle community so I will apologise in advance if I’ve included too much detail, or have missed anything important out!

I am looking for advice on what I believe to be a Statute Barred debt from 2008. The borrowing was from the now defunct Welcome Finance.

Without going into too much detail, I wasn’t in the best place financially at the time (hence dealing with Welcome!) and after losing my job in 2009, stopped making payments on this debt; not my finest hour, and not something I will never be repeating.

Fast forward to 2017, and I am in a far stronger financial position, and even managed to get a mortgage in 2015. Then, out of the clear blue, I receive a letter from Lowell Solicitors in June 2017 stating that a CCJ has been entered against me, with the original holder of the debt being Welcome Finance.

Subsequently, I contacted Lowell and asked why this debt was not classed as Statute Barred, as my understanding was no action could be brought against me after expiration of six years if a “relevant claim” has not been made prior (relevant being a creditor raising action in court, not just sending a default letter.)

After contacting them, Lowell said they would look into this matter, and low and behold, their “relevant claim” was a Default letter dated June 2012 to an address I hadn’t lived at since 2008.

I replied to their letter saying that:

 The earliest point at which they could have sued for the full balance owing to this debt was more than six years ago