• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Barclays holding me liable for a loan.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Barclays holding me liable for a loan.

Hi Guys

I’m new to this. I’m in need of help. In a short summary I exchanged my phone under warranty and after exchanging it I had a loan taken out with Barclays and the money was then transferred into my account and then out of the account via betting sites. (Using a process of match betting I believe).

Barclays confirmed that the device used to apply for the loan was the device I had handed back to apple. They holding me liable because they say I must of given someone my card details and pin.

Whilst they where investigating the fraud they issued me a new card and pin which I didn’t use or even open but once again I had more money taken out my accounts via debit card payment from this new card. They refunded the money that got used from the new card but didn’t give me an explanation how that happened.

Any way I took this case to the financial ombudsman but got the same results Barclays have now asked wescot to act on there behalf... I’ve not spoken to wescot yet but I’m prepared to go to court as I have evidence I didn’t apply for the loan but yet I’m still being held liable can someone please give me some advice on how to deal with this.

We talking £26k so it’s a lot of money I can’t afford to pay back and don’t see why I should have to pay it back.
    Tags: None

Re: Barclays holding me liable for a loan.

Hi
    Did you reset you phone prior to returning it to apple ( as they advise) or did someone in the apple store do this for you?

Have Barclays place a default on your your credit file?