• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Lowells Financial - Want me to pay a debt I do not owe

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowells Financial - Want me to pay a debt I do not owe

I hope that I have posted in the correct section, my apologies if not.

Out of the blue this morning, I received a letter and 'Annual Statement' from Lowells, a company I have never heard of until now. They are saying that I owe them money (73.52) due to an unpaid debt originally owned by Freemans PLC. Apparently, the original credit agreement date was 30 Nov 2012.

I have no knowledge of this debt and have always, always paid all debts off on time every month and still do. I have never taken out any loans in my name either.

Whilst this supposed debt is small, I am concerned that if I ignore this demand they will take matters further. I have also read online about this firm and am also worried that contacting them by phone will only lead to more harassment. I am 76 years of age and never been in debt in my life, so receiving this letter this morning upsets me greatly.

I am at a loss as to what I should do, I don't want to pay a debt that as far as I am concerned is not mine, so what should be my first step in this matter?

Just a note. They have sent this letter to my new address yet at the date of the original credit agreement I lived elsewhere.

My thanks, in advance for any help you can give me.
    Tags: None

did you have a catalogue account with Freemans>

Comment

Originally posted by MIKE770 View Post
      did you have a catalogue account with Freemans>