• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Howard Cohen Solicitors/Harassment.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howard Cohen Solicitors/Harassment.

I have received a letter from Howard Cohen Solicitors, who say they are acting on behalf of Hoist Portfolio Ltd-(A debt collection company).
    Cohen states that I owe £3500 to hoist and that the debt is from a Barclay's Bank loan in 2004! I have no such knowledge of this debt, but it does appear on my credit file. I am now threatened with court action unless I pay. I have never admitted to this debt, not even spoken to anyone of it as there is no memory of it. I fired off a request for C.P.R documents, and Cohen wrote back stating they want a 7 day extension to get the docs. They have already had the statutory 14 days, and I am of the belief that even before they threatened me with court action-they must have this information before doing so! I have wrote back stating that any such debt is statue barred because of the time limit-unless I have previously admitted to it, and also, there is no record of me making any payments to anyone. What is my next step. I have read about Cohen on Legal Beagles and how they have a habit of bending the rules to get you to make a payment. Would appreciate any help on this subject.
    Tags: None

Re: Howard Cohen Solicitors/Harassment.

Originally posted by tedamuffin View Post
    I have received a letter from Howard Cohen Solicitors, who say they are acting on behalf of Hoist Portfolio Ltd-(A debt collection company).