• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

PCN for allegedly driving in a bus lane.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PCN for allegedly driving in a bus lane.

Hello,

I'm a fairly new driver (since May) and I've just been issued a penalty charge for allegedly driving in a bus lane. I'm fairly familiar with the road in question, as I drive it almost daily to retrieve my partner from work. Anyway, they did send me photographic evidence, which I feel only further supports the unjustness of their claims. I'm just looking for a bit of advice in forming a response, as I intend to challenge the fine.

I apologise if I'm posting this in the wrong place, I’m new to this too.

Thank you for your time

Leighton
    Tags: None

Stills never tell the whole story. You need to view the video, often available on-line on the councils website.

Comment

You really need to give more info, but the best forum for penalty charges is Pepipoo : http://www.pepipoo.com/

Comment

Hi,

Thank you for your responses. I just thought I'd post an update, as it may help others.

I wrote back to the council and made representations on the grounds that I didn't believe the alleged contravention occurred.

A bit of research produced a document on the council website, that contained guidelines for traffic enforcement and the issuing of penalties. The guidelines specifically state that a driver must be observed to have travelled 20 meters within a bus lane, before a penalty should be issued (This may be specific to Bury, but is also apparently the case in London).