• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Charging order

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charging order

Hey..im very new to this so please bare with me.
    5 yrs ago I had a very messy divorce.. I was given the house and two debts my ex husband was give two debts, one ov them.debts was a charging order on the house. Just after the divorce he declared himself bankrupt.
    now until a month ago I never new he hadnt paid these debts now the company is coming after me.. I have few questions..
    1. Can the debt company wait 5 yrs before informing me this debt has not been paid.
    2. The debt company say his name has been wiped off the debt and its,solely in my name as he went bankrupt.
    3. It was a joint debt he was given to pay and it was a charging order on the house.. but now im.being told by debt company as house is now only in my name and ex went bankrupt the charging order is now in my name only and I have to pay it... is this correct even tho when the order was put on the house it was in both our names and the debt in both our names... im very confused as how this has all been dumped on me now even tho in the divorce it states he is to release me from.any responsibility ov the debt and charging order.. is there anyone that can explain and tell me if this is right..
    thank you
    charmaine x
    Tags: None

clarify a few things, 2 debts were they just his or say a loan etc in joint names?

who is the debt company? saying all this?

Comment