• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Been made perm after 7 months through agency. Pay has gone up?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Been made perm after 7 months through agency. Pay has gone up?

Hi there forumites,
    I've been working for my employer for around 8 months now. The first 7 were through an employment agency but I was offered a perm contract last month. On the temp contract I was on £7.25 p/h, 35 h/pw. Now on salary, I'm on 1336.58 p/m (arond £8.8 p/h), which is a considerable pay rise.

My employer does hire people directly, who start on this salary, and we do exactly the same job (work in same teams, have same targets etcs.).
    We were always told perm staff don't get paid more which they clearly do.
    This is illegal now surely?
    If so, who should I speak to?

Thank you for any help.
    Tags: None

Re: Been made perm after 7 months through agency. Pay has gone up?

It's not illegal to pay a temp less money than a permanent member of staff. As you can imagine the employer pays the employment agency a lot more money that you actually receive, usually 2 or 3 times the hourly rate. The employment agency sets the pay and not the place of work so therefore they have the right to pay you whatever salary or hourly rate that they choose.