• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Self employed contractor - owner trying to claw back training costs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Self employed contractor - owner trying to claw back training costs

Hi all,

Wondering if someone could provide me with some assistance. I am a self employed driving instructor. I "sub-contract" i.e. work under the umbrella of an established business as an instructor for them. Originally when I joined the business (also trading as a sole trader for reference) the owner trained me up for no cost and I sub contracted for them afterwards training students, which I have been doing for just under a year now. There have never been any contracts signed or any agreements whatsoever. There was never any mention of money changing hands unless I wanted an intensive training package which I opted not to bother for, instead training over a period of four months. I am now fully qualified in my own right.

Unfortunately myself and the company owner have had a breakdown in our working relationship and he is seeking to recover training costs from me if I leave. Where do I stand on this? I have never signed or agreed to anything of that nature, in terms of a genuine pre estimate of loss I simply observed him carrying out lessons and progressively took parts of them until he deemed me competent, he spent a probably about 10 hours with me one on one. There has also not been a figure mentioned, just "you would have to pay for your training". I hope someone can help me.

Many thanks
    Tags: None

Tagging Ula for you, but my opinion ( for what it's worth) is he's trying it on to be awkward.
    #staysafestayhome